top of page

The Quest for Ballon d'Or Féminin 2023 Glory: Reigniting Women's Football Stardom

Embracing Excellence: Tracing the Journey Towards the Next Ballon d'Or Féminin Champion

The Ballon d'Or Féminin has become one of the most prestigious awards in women's soccer, celebrating the outstanding achievements of the world's top female football players. With Alexia Putellas having clinched the title two years in a row (2021 and 2022), the anticipation for the next winner is palpable. As we delve into the exciting possibilities for this year's winner, let's reflect on the previous champions and explore the potential contenders who could lift the coveted trophy.

Since its inception in 2018, the Ballon d'Or Féminin has recognized exceptional talent and skill in women's football. The inaugural winner, Ada Hegerberg, made history by becoming the first award recipient, a testament to her remarkable performances on the field. Following Hegerberg's triumph, the iconic Megan Rapinoe claimed the title in 2019, showcasing her prowess as a leader and a player of immense influence.

Photo credits: @Alexiaputellas Instagram

The Reign of Alexia Putellas

The years 2021 and 2022 saw the skillful attacking midfielder and leader on the pitch claim back-to-back victories, firmly establishing herself as a force to be reckoned with. Putellas and her winning mentality, an integral part of FC Barcelona and the Spanish national team, demonstrated exceptional skill, vision, and leadership, making her a deserving winner. Her success has set a high bar for potential successors in the Race for the 2023 Ballon d'Or Féminin.

The Influence of the FIFA Women's World Cup

The FIFA Women's World Cup has always been a stage for global talent to shine. This year's tournament has already seen new shining starts. It has allowed players from various parts of the world to stake their claim in the international spotlight. Players like Sam Kerr (Australia), Aitana Bonmati (Spain), Debinha (Brazil), Fridolina Rolfo (Sweden), Yui Hasegawa (Japan), Khadija 'Bunny' Shaw (Jamaica), and Linda Caicedo (Colombia) could elevate their chances of being included in the nomination list.

The Farewell of Marta Vieira da Silva

As the world currently watches the FIFA Women's World Cup headed to Quarterfinals, one notable absence will be felt deeply: the retirement of Brazilian legend Marta Vieira da Silva. With an illustrious career spanning over two decades, Marta has been a source of inspiration for countless players and fans alike. Her legacy as one of the greatest female footballers will undoubtedly shape the tournament's narrative, adding an emotional element to the competition. Marta should receive a legacy award at the Ballon d'Or Féminin. We love you, Marta! :)

Photo credit:

Who will be next?

As we eagerly await the announcement of the next Ballon d'Or Féminin winner in October, the stage is set for a captivating battle in the following weeks among some of the finest talents in women's football. Will a newcomer rise to the occasion, or will a seasoned campaigner claim the crown? The legacy of past winners, the impact of the FIFA Women's World Cup, and the retirement of Marta Vieira da Silva all contribute to the intrigue surrounding this year's Race.

Without a doubt, the realm of women's soccer is poised for an exhilarating and historic expedition, propelled by an exponential rise in competition, an abundance of growth opportunities, and an unwavering ability to captivate fans and ignite inspiration among players worldwide.


And as we said and will continue saying it: “MORE WOMEN ARE NEEDED IN THE BUSINESS SIDE OF SOCCER IF WE WANT TO GROW IT.” ~~ Together we are stronger. #UPRIGHTCITY

19 views0 comments


bottom of page